Options for oil pressure sender position.

General Chat About Engine Build

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

Post Reply
jenko
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:07 pm

Options for oil pressure sender position.

Post by jenko » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:28 am

Im struggling for room in the timing cover. There are two spaces, but the sender is quite large. Any other options on the RV8 for oil pressure sender location.


Building a westfield V8

ratwing
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:40 am
Location: Medway

Post by ratwing » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:42 pm

Could you fit a pipe in the sender hole so you could fit the sender somewhere else?

User avatar
ChrisJC
Top Dog
Top Dog
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:13 pm
Location: Northants / Cambs
Contact:

Post by ChrisJC » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:31 pm

I did this:
Image

Chris.
--
Series IIA 4.6 V8
R/R P38 4.6 V8

User avatar
stevieturbo
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3442
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:22 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Options for oil pressure sender position.

Post by stevieturbo » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:08 pm

jenko wrote:Im struggling for room in the timing cover. There are two spaces, but the sender is quite large. Any other options on the RV8 for oil pressure sender location.
Exactly which engine/oil pump/filter housing etc, and where is space a problem on your setup ?

And which sensor are you using ?
9.85 @ 144.75mph
202mph standing mile
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgWRCDtiTQ0

jenko
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:07 pm

Post by jenko » Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:31 am

You can see just see the sender in this pic, it hits the alternator bracket and also , the send is a 1/4npt rather than an m12, so I need to add in an adapter. the sender is very large, but I really need to use it to match to the smiths gauges.

Image
Building a westfield V8

User avatar
DEVONMAN
Top Dog
Top Dog
Posts: 1364
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Croydon UK

Post by DEVONMAN » Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:44 am

You could put it on a Tee in the filter or cooler pipes. If you are not using a cooler then the outlet below the cover could be used but it will read slight more as your filter becomes clogged. TVR use this location. It's M20 thread.
Just as a comment on your layout, the belt tensioner is on the wrong side of the engine and will tend to loosen the belt tension under load.
1950 A40 Devon Hotrod with 5.0 twin turbo RV8. (10 things to make you smile)
EDIS8 wasted spark, Holley Injection.
Been as far as the Moon and back in 54 year of driving. Same Car, 5 engine upgrades !!!


Image

Seight-V8
Knows His Stuff
Knows His Stuff
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:12 am
Location: Stockton-On-Tees
Contact:

Post by Seight-V8 » Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:05 pm

I used something like this

http://www.ratsport.com/PBSCProduct.asp?ItmID=9611764

then just made a bracket to hold the sender in a different location....

worked a treat, with the standard VDO oil pressure sender I have.

Image

regards

scott

User avatar
stevieturbo
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3442
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:22 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Post by stevieturbo » Fri Jun 02, 2017 4:25 pm

Just remote mount it on a short piece of flexible hose.
9.85 @ 144.75mph
202mph standing mile
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgWRCDtiTQ0

benjai
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:36 pm

Post by benjai » Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:40 am

I had the same issue.

I found a swivel elbow which would screw into the block, and which had enough metal on the other end to cut off and drill and tap to suit an adaptor which the sensor would screw into. There’s just enough room for everything to fit, but it’s tight… The photo shows the two elbows I bought (just in case) with the upper unmodified, and the lower showing the internal tapping for the adaptor.


Image

jenko
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:07 pm

Post by jenko » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:48 am

Thanks for the ideas, I think I may have a solution now. the timing cover has m12 plugs, BUT...the actual thread in the timing cover appears to be bigger (possibly M14), This means that the 1/4inch NPT thread of the sender actually does fit (although only about 4 thread will go in)...I think this with some ptfe tape and locktite, should be ok.
Building a westfield V8

User avatar
richardpope50
Knows His Stuff
Knows His Stuff
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Horsham, West Sussex

Post by richardpope50 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:39 am

DEVONMAN wrote:Just as a comment on your layout, the belt tensioner is on the wrong side of the engine and will tend to loosen the belt tension under load.
This is 100% correct and cannot be put onto the right hand side. See my posts on http://www.v8forum.co.uk/forum/viewtopi ... 3&start=75

When you see what happens when you blip the throttle the belt goes very slack indeed. I've now made up a fixed jockey wheel and it appears to have reduced my cooling issues - but think I need an oil cooler!
Richard.
Dax Rush 5.0l TVR V8, EFI with Megasquirt ECU and wasted spark, Racelogic Traction Control, ABS and Quaife LSD

jenko
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:07 pm

Post by jenko » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:20 pm

richardpope50 wrote:
DEVONMAN wrote:Just as a comment on your layout, the belt tensioner is on the wrong side of the engine and will tend to loosen the belt tension under load.
This is 100% correct and cannot be put onto the right hand side. See my posts on http://www.v8forum.co.uk/forum/viewtopi ... 3&start=75

When you see what happens when you blip the throttle the belt goes very slack indeed. I've now made up a fixed jockey wheel and it appears to have reduced my cooling issues - but think I need an oil cooler!
Completely agree....What's not obvious is the tensioner on the right (as you are looking at the engine) is not actually acting as a tensioner (the actual tensioner is in the usual place on the left. The one you are referring is not under any load...it's just acting as an up and over pulley. (hope that makes sense).
Building a westfield V8

Post Reply

Return to “Engines Area”