87 Hilux, 3.5 RV8 Cooling query

General Chat About Cooling & Overheating

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

Pos

87 Hilux, 3.5 RV8 Cooling query

Post by Pos »

Hi,

I've been scouring the forum for a couple of years soaking up information and it's been a fantastic resource.

Last year I acquired a MK2 Hilux (YN67) with the Milners Rover V8 engine conversion, which I've been restoring and making roadworthy. The original SD1 3.5 had a worn bottom end, so we transplanted in a replacement P6 3.5 high comp engine, which is running great.

I have a cooling query, which I don't seem to be able to find an answer to and I would like to get the thoughts and ideas of the folks on here.

Essentially the setup uses the existing Toyota radiator and expansion tank, with the factory ~12psi radiator cap. It's the type with the unsealed expansion tank and bleed hose mounted at the side of the radiator.

I also have a Volvo header tank, mounted level with the top of the inlet manifold, which has a cap rated at ~10.8psi.

The engine generally runs cool when driving, but when sitting in traffic, the temperature increases (around 1/2 - 3/4 on the gauge) and the header tank cap begins to vent coolant. I have only ever filled the header tank 1/4 full.

My understanding is that the system should have a single 15psi cap but I would like to know whether or not people think I should ditch the header tank and keep the expansion tank, or ditch the expansion tank and keep the header tank? Can they work in unison?

Many thanks for any replies and Merry Christmas.

-Tom

ChrisJC
Top Dog
Top Dog

Re: 87 Hilux, 3.5 RV8 Cooling query

Post by ChrisJC »

Have you got any pictures?

What I think will happen with your setup is that over a few warming / cooling cycles, the water will be drawn from the expansion tank into the system and fill up the header tank to the top. Then, because it has a lower pressure cap, it will escape from the header tank.