Rolling Road tuning....

Day To Day Chat Area, So Forum Topic's Don't Get Spammed Up.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

109matt

Rolling Road tuning....

Post by 109matt »

Hello all !

Newbie here so please don't laugh too much if this is a daft question or two....

so i have just replaced the old stromburgs on my 3.5 with a new set of SU's now i have not managed to drive it yet to see if the issues i was having are sorted (mostly down to having to rewire most of the dash board as mice have had a little food party in there during the landy's 4 year sleep and things were a little sparky to say the least....)

i digress, would you say it was worth me forking out to have it set up on a rolling road and if so is there anyone around the derbyshire\staffordshire area that can do a Series landy that you would recommend ? ive never done anything like this before :-)

thanks all !!

old landys are like labrador pups, they get so excited every time they see you they wee on the drive

kiwicar
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by kiwicar »

Hi
How standard is the engine? if it is near standard and by that I mean a standard tune for any rover out the factory with SUs then just look up the needles for that model and use them. If it differs say by a set of stage 1 heads and a slightly livlier cam then start with a needle from something fairly close and get a lambda sensor that is logable on a lappy (say an inovate LC1 http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lc1.php you can get them off ebay) and drive it around taking logs, get a needle chart and away you go. In the long run it will be cheeper than a rolling road and a good logable lambda probe makes it a DIY job.
Best regards
Mike
poppet valves rule!

109matt

Post by 109matt »

Thanks Kiwicar ! thats a really useful reply !