Sizing a Single Turbo for RV8

General Chat And Help Regarding Turbocharging and Supercharging.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

chodjinn
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Sizing a Single Turbo for RV8

Post by chodjinn »

As some of you know, I run a 3.9 twin turbo, using T04B Rotomasters. They're only at about 5-6psi at the moment, and have the legs for a fair bit more than that I guess.

However, I will be building another short motor soon, and I've been thinking about going to a large single turbo instead (mainly so I can sell my Janspeed kit on as I only use the manifolds and turbos now). So, I've been reading on the 'net about A/R stuff and turbine/compressor sizes etc, but seeing as I'm not very good at this I don't really understand it all. I'm mianly confused about sizing the turbine/compressor correctly.

The plan is for a 3.5l (215CI) RV8, and to get 'big power' (whatever that may be!) - now please don't flame or fill this thread up with crap about what an RV8 can take etc etc I know that, this is only a theoretical exercise. (bear in mind Prism have a massive power TVR twin turbo so it is possible with the right kit).

I've read about a guy in Oz running a Garrett GT40, (only apparently the GT series can't be rebuilt) and getting circa 500bhp. And I've been lo0oking at the usual suspects; Turbonetics, Precision, Innovative (if you can find one).

I have also been reading up on Master Power turbos (the proper ones not knock-off 'xspower'/'ssautochrome' shite) which seem a good budget equivalent, and I've also found a decent dealer in the US (e.g. MPGT45 for about $1k but it does look a big turbo!). I've also read through the forum, and generally speaking I should be looking at something in the region of .80 to 1.00 A/R turbine, with around .70 A/R compressor to get good power.

Anyone care to help look into this a bit further??? Sorry about the long thread for something so vauge 8-)

roofman
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused