couple of questions about fuel pressure TB's IAC and more

General Chat About Exhaust, Cylinder Heads, Fuel Systems And Intake

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

dedoo

couple of questions about fuel pressure TB's IAC and more

Post by dedoo »

Hey guys,

I'm building a rover engine for my kitcar project and bought a act carbon plenum to fit my 45mm inlet. I'm going to use a DTA pro8 ECU. have Merlin heads and I'm using a piper 285i cam. and have a JE dry sump set up

I was browsing ebay just a few minutes ago for a fitting TB and found these:
link 1
and
link 2
good or totally wrong choice?

second question:
should I use the IAC stepper or forget about it.

Third question:
About the fuel rail I'm using a Bosch 044 fuel pump should I fit, and I was thinking about SARD, a fuel pressure regulator or use what is on the normal fuelrail now. And if I'm going to use the sard one how should I go about adjusting the fuel rail?

As you can see from my questions I'm a novice in engine building and would really love your help to let me make the right choices.

Thanks for your help !

Danny
Last edited by dedoo on Sat Sep 04, 2010 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

kiwicar
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by kiwicar »

Hi
Either throttle body looks OK, you will need a throttle pot' but they seem to have fittings for one they should flow about 25% more than standard though the standard one is not a big restriction.
IAC is a personal choice thing, should give you a more stable idle but it will need setting up.
I would think with the heads and cam you will need bigger injectors, on that basis you should be thinking of uprating the fuel delivery system not just the pump, fit bigger bore fuel rails, a higher flow regulator and bigger bore fuel lines and a bigger filter from the tank and for the return.