SU carbs and CO2

General Chat About Exhaust, Cylinder Heads, Fuel Systems And Intake

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

scudderfish
Site Admin
Site Admin

SU carbs and CO2

Post by scudderfish »

I have a friend with a 3.5 V8 TR7 on SU carbs that just had an MOT fail on CO2 levels. The car has been off the road for years, and has just been re-commissioned. I have no knowledge of SU carbs, so what would be a sensible plan of attack for pulling down the CO2 level?

DaveEFI
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: SU carbs and CO2

Post by DaveEFI »

I think you likely mean CO?
The limit for this depends on the age of the vehicle. If between 1/8/75 and 1/8/86, it is 4.5% maximum, which rather obviously SU carbs can meet, given how many vehicles are fitted with them.

First check the ignition system is good. No misfiring, etc. And that the timing is to the factory spec for your engine version.

Make sure the air filter(s) is clean. If you don't know when it was last changed, fit new. Also make sure the crank case breather system (flame traps and hoses etc are clean and functioning correctly.

Now check the idle mixture. Run the engine until it is a normal operating temperature. Most SU carbs have a spring loaded piston lifting pin, situated on the main carb body under the dashpot. Lifting the piston slightly (a few MM) weakens the mixture slightly. If when you do this (one carb at a time) the engine speeds up and stays speeded up while the piston is lifted, the mixture is too rich. If it slows down, too weak. Ideally, it will stay the same speed, or speed up momentarily then go back to as before. High CO generally means a too rich idle mixture. Just for info, an engine will idle reliably with a too rich mixture to pass an MOT, but generally not if it is too weak.

If there is no lifting pin, remove the air intake trunking and lift the piston with a small screwdriver, etc.