Wet or Oily Plugs RV8

General Chat About Exhaust, Cylinder Heads, Fuel Systems And Intake

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

irony
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused

Wet or Oily Plugs RV8

Post by irony »

Got my RV8 running now and it has issues. I think it's either running rich or somehow oiling up the spark plugs. Once the car is running it seems to be fine. However if left over a period of time, say a couple of weeks the plugs are black and wet. It struggles to start and one or more cylinders don't seem to be firing. The exhausts are cold. Take the spark plugs out of the offending bores and they are wet with black fluid. I don't know if its oil or sooted petrol. Clean then up and it'll fire and run happily.

I am new to building engines so (and I built this one) any advice is appreciated. I thought that maybe the valve guide seals were the offending problem but there seems to be differing advice on the net.

Coops
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Coops »

have you tried doing a compression test yet?
Regards Tony C (COOPS)
MS2 V3.57 Ecu mapable efi and wasted spark ignition.
Procharger D1SC supercharger and Cossie RS500 Intercooler @ 14psi of Boost. 416 RWHP, (boost leak)
Forged 4.8 V8 kitted out with the dogs Cajones of parts. :D
Sponsored by: www.v8performanceparts.co.uk, www.interpart.biz, www.caprisport.com & www.baileyperformance.co.uk

irony
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused

Post by irony »

Coops wrote:have you tried doing a compression test yet?
No because mostly I don't have one. I should probably buy one and the problem is not limited to one cylinder only. It seems to be an issue with all cylinders.

irony
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused

Post by irony »

Just bought a compression tester and it will be here in a couple of days. It also just went through a IVA test where they test the emissions and it past the tests dead easy. In fact it walked through the tests being nowhere near the required minimums.

Spongo
Forum Contributor