Distributor advance springs?

General Chat About Electrics, And Ignition Systems.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

The Original Tom
Getting There
Getting There

Distributor advance springs?

Post by The Original Tom »

Because funds won't strech to a nice shiny EDIS system (see my other post), I'm wondering wether replacing the advance springs would help my poor power curve (gets shaky and looses power at the top end unless I advance the dizzy at the expense of idle).

Where can I buy the springs, what sort of price ar they, and are there different rates you can buy? I have a more torquey cam than standard.

The other possibility is that my vac advance it knackered, but I think they're very pricey aren't they? Can I rob one off another distributor (say a 4-cyl) or will it not work?
The only other possibility then is if someone on here has a spare dizzy that they wouldn't mind letting go for cheap (I'm a poor student!) I would be most grateful.
I currently have the 35DM8, but I'd guess the 35DLM8 or the 35DE8 would be fine as I'm using an RPI A&R Power amp with automatic LPG ignition advance.

Thanks in advance,
Tom.

Rover 3.5 V8 landy - Completely rebuilt and purring... Now awaiting a good tune!!

ChrisJC
Top Dog
Top Dog

Post by ChrisJC »

You can test a vac advance unit easily enough by:
- Check that the movement in the distributor is free
- Put some vacuum on it and see if it moves.

You could try somebody like Rimmer Bros to see if they do just the springs. I expect they would be quite cheap, certainly cheaper than another distributor (£25-30 on eBay)

Chris.
--
Series IIA 4.6 V8
R/R P38 4.6 V8
R/R L405 4.4 SDV8

sidecar
Top Dog
Top Dog

Re: Distributor advance springs?

Post by sidecar »