Automatic gearbox questions

General Chat About Drivetrain & Transmission.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

dyno
Helpful or Confused
Helpful or Confused

Automatic gearbox questions

Post by dyno »

I'm in a process of building a Rover V8 4,6 ltr, fast road/rally cam and quad Webers DCOE crossover. I've got plans to use an auto gearbox. I'm totally new to Rover V8 and auto boxes. I had 2 idea's in mind. The car is an older space frame Mondeo look like, +/- 850 - 900 kg (2 wheel drive). Plenty of room to fit virtual anything. Rear axle is Toyota Hilux, any ratio available, currently 4,56/1.

I fit a ZF 4HP24, use electronics to shift at the wheel (or programmed shifts) or have it converted to mechanical shift (from ZF 4HP22). They told me I have to start with a Jaguar ZF 4HP24 gearbox, fit Rover V8 Bellhousing from late 4,6 ltr and use this big Rover torque convertor. Is this correct, does it fit the Jaguar box and which Jag box do I have to select? Any other issues I just can't see? Drive shaft is not a problem.

The person who does rebuild and convert ZF boxes here also told me the ZF 5HP24 is a stronger box to start from. The gears from second to fifth gear are also closer as the one from first to fourth in a 4HP24 gearbox (I would not use the first gear in the 5 speed box, except for loading the car on a trailer etc...). This gearbox can be sifted with paddle at the wheel (and the right ECU of course). Not possible to shift mechanical but is not a problem.

But I don't think this ZF 5HP24 was ever fitted as standard on a classic V8, only the later 4,4 engines. Correct? This will mean, no plug and play bellhousing and also no plug and play torque converter (seems like a different model torque converters on these late type 5 speed. So, is it possible to do this conversion? Anyone ever done it with success?

Or does anyone out there has a better solution? Advice please.

DaveEFI
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by DaveEFI »