twin turbo set up

General Chat And Help Regarding Turbocharging and Supercharging.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

ford100ev8

twin turbo set up

Post by ford100ev8 »

i have a rover v8 3.9 efi ,i want to keep the efi and fit twin turbos , i am looking for about 400bhp , what size turbos would i need to get , i can make my own manifolds as i am a fabricator, tig welder by trade , i just need to find out about the inlet manifold , any info would be much appriciated , thanks

kiwicar
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by kiwicar »

Hi
there are two ways to size the turbos, calculate the airflow requirments for the boosted engine, get a load of turbo maps and plot the requirments onto the maps find the best fit. there are various books that will take you through the process, if you decide to go through this process I can surgest a couple of books.
The second way is to find a 2 litre ish car that produces about half your target output over the rev range you are after and get 2 turbos for that model.
what I would advise is that you pay particular atention to the base tune of the engine, aim for a cam/head inlet manifold combination that will give you about 220 bhp and then boost it to about 15 psi. be carefull not to drop the CR too far, I would recommend the turbo cam from Real steel for this and make sure the squish band is not sacrificed to lowering the CR use a nice big intercooler. . . should be fairly easy to achieve what you are after.
best regards
Mike
poppet valves rule!

ford100ev8

Post by ford100ev8 »

so i am looking at two t3 turbos of 2 lt cars , do i need to fit forged pistons ? what other internal mods need to be done , also what gearbox would be best , its going in my ford 100e , thanks

kiwicar
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by kiwicar »

Hi