General Chat About Body & Strengthening

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

daxtojeiro
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor

Aerodynamic Experts advice needed

Post by daxtojeiro »

Hi all,
I've been looking into some form of splitter/spoiler for the front of my Cobra. Im no expert at this , but a lot of te TVR guys add a spoiler under the car, but from what Ive read this lifts the car up, which isnt good in my mind!
I've read that a splitter is what I need to add some front end downforce. So this is what Ive come up with, anyone see any issues with it, before I fit it :)

http://www.extraefi.co.uk/cobra/accobra.htm SuperCharged 5325cc V8 Cobra Replica (Full sequential Fuel and Ignition MS3 management)

Darkspeed
Guru
Guru

Post by Darkspeed »

I would not call that a splitter - its more of an undertray - And I doubt that what you have there will make any significant difference.

First you need to establish what pressure area you have above the bonnet - if you pop the catch and drive over 60 with it what does the bonnet do?

A front splitter generally works with a dam first to push the air around rather than under the car - then a splitter is there to provide the point at which the air is "split" to go under or around the car - to be effective the splitter normally extends to behind the front axle line.

I can see where you are going with the flaps but to be effective to have to throw up a volume of weight of air which will give you an equivelent down force - Newtons law and all that - for every action.... If you throw up a ton of air you get a ton of downforce. I cannot bsee that you are going to throw that air airwhere but into the body of the car - they would be better to push the air sideways into the low pressure area behind the front wheels.

Andrew
4.5L V8 Ginetta G27

ian.stewart
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor
Location: Far Far south, any further south and my feet are wet

Post by ian.stewart »