Turning into more than I expected ...

General Chat About Body & Strengthening

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

chodjinn
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Turning into more than I expected ...

Post by chodjinn »

I'm starting to realise that restoring the shell I have is a much bigger job than I anticipated. Now I've got all the soundproofing crud and stonechip off I can see how bad things are. There have been some poor repairs to both floors in the past, which apparently worsened the water traps MGBs have ... I now have at least one sill to replace and probably the other (one A pillar completely rotted thru the sill at the point you cannot access without removing the whole thing!), the front and rear of both floors and both boot corners :cry:

I'm just wondering if anyone has done this sort of work before (not just on an MG) and what is best to start first, floors, sills etc? I'm a complete amateur and planning to use a mig welder of some description which I'll be purchasing very soon. Please no "it's too much work for you" type of things, I have no choice but to do this myself, I was pretty mortified this wkend when I found the sills were shot! I have a complete shell with decent floors and sills that I can chop about for bits as required, any advice greatly received as usual! (and no I can't use that shell it needs new F&R wings which are a fortune!).

RIP MGB V8 .... served me well as a learning curve.

R32 Skyline V8 .... this one is gonna be a monster!

DaveEFI
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by DaveEFI »

I'd first make sure you can acquire the welding skills needed. It's something which has alluded me - despite plenty practice. And judging by some of the repairs I've seen, I'm not the only one.
Dave
London SW
Rover SD1 VDP EFI
MegaSquirt2 V3
EDIS8
Tech Edge 2Y

chodjinn
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by chodjinn »