What V8 Engine For Defender 90

Post any info regarding parts for conversion and swaps.
and any posts regarding swaps help.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

beanyman1000

What V8 Engine For Defender 90

Post by beanyman1000 »

Hi there, newbie to this forum,
I have purchased a 1999 defender 90 TD5,
I am going to rebuild it with V8, I know you are going to say WHY? but I used to own a 90 50th anniversary, and foolishly sold back in 2004 when I moved to France. So my retirement hobby is going to be be Build a new one, If it means new chassis etc. so be it.
I am not a mechanic or a welder, so I need to know what is the best V8 to put straight in, (after refurb of course) I was thinking of getting a P38 Range Rover auto and trying to fit the whole lot in. Is this possible?
I know how to hold a spanner, and can do most things, I part built a V12 Dax Cobra many years back, so I have some idea, but ideally I would like it to be just nuts and bolts. :nw I am sure you guys will know the answer.

Been there want it again.

unstable load
Top Dog
Top Dog

Post by unstable load »

If your Defender is complete, then all you need is the engine to bolt onto the box. and then the fun starts with rewiring the engine for the V8 and fitting the ECUs.

The P38 T/C is a left side output so you will need to replace your diffs, too. With a Landy box and T/C you keep your current diffs.
Cheers,
John

beanyman1000

Post by beanyman1000 »

Hi There thanks for replying, what I was wondering is, can I use "all" the parts from the RR, i.e. engine auto box and Transfer box, plus the axles, will it all fit? I can get someone else to sort out the electrics (hopefully)

Rossco
Moderator Gold
Moderator Gold

Post by Rossco »

Yes is the simple answer.

Be aware though that the LT230 and Borg Warner transfer boxes are different hands, they output the drive to the front axle on different sides.

Why not go the Buick 455 route

russell_ram
Getting There
Getting There

Post by russell_ram »