LPG kit help, again????????

Any posts regarding LPG to be posted here ONLY please.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

marcjagman
Getting There
Getting There

LPG kit help, again????????

Post by marcjagman »

I have a 3.5 on carbs and am thinking about fitting LPG, whilst the car is still "in bits" it seems to make sense to do it now. As I am unable to work for a living I will probably have to buy the bits one at a time as I can afford them, at least I'll be able to buy the bits I prefer. I have been reading a lot on the subject but still hesitant. Is there a site somewhere with a simple diagram on how to fit an LPG system? I roughly know all the bits I'll need, tank, filler, vapouriser, valves, etc but still not 100% on how/where to fit, probably due to me not liking things I've not done before. They are probably easier to do than I think and reading the comments on here, they are. My main questions are, how does the gas get into the engine from the vapouriser, is that what one of the valves is for? Not really looking for a step by step just how it goes together and works under the bonnet. Thanks in advance.

Quagmire
Knows His Stuff
Knows His Stuff

Post by Quagmire »

We have three v8 (carbed) Landrovers in my family, all running lpg. The setup is simple, and although it may be more tricky to mount it all in a "normal" car the principles are the same. :D

The system that goes from one end to the other it goes like this.

Filler -> pipe (carrying liquified gas) -> tank

tank -> pipe (carrying liquified gas) -> vapouriser -> pipe (carrying gassy gas) - mixer rings.

On my 90 I have the tank in the rear loadbay, tight against the rear bulkhead (so right behind the seats). The pipework exits the tank through the floor, with one pipe running to the underside of the rear crossmember where the filler point is attached. This means the filler is in the centre and I can use pumps on either side. :wink: