Rv8 'thor' turbo / supercharging

General Chat And Help Regarding Turbocharging and Supercharging.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

Deicist

Rv8 'thor' turbo / supercharging

Post by Deicist »

Hi all, I have a completely stock 2001 Range Rover P38 with the 4.6 'thor' engine in it. While I love the car, and I never expected it to be a sports car, sometimes I wish it had a bit more grunt behind it.

While I'm happy to get my hands dirty, and have done minor things like water pump replacement, shocks etc I'm a complete novice when it comes to forced induction. However, I love tinkering and learning new stuff so....

First off, could I just mount a blower of some description (turbo or super) in place of the current air inlet retaining the current MAF, throttle, manifold etc and have it 'just work' or is that doomed to failure before I start?

I'm not interested in wringing every last drop of hp out of my engine, if I could stick say 6psi of boost into it I think I should see reasonable returns.

If it is as simple as 'bung a blower in front of it' then which type should I be going for? I'm looking for low / mid range gains, not a 2 ton drag racer :)

scudderfish
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Rv8 'thor' turbo / supercharging

Post by scudderfish »

No idea myself, but congratulations on an excellent first post, you'll fit in well here :)

SuperV8
Guru
Guru

Post by SuperV8 »

Hi and welcome;

Hi all, I have a completely stock 2001 Range Rover P38 with the 4.6 'thor' engine in it. While I love the car, and I never expected it to be a sports car, sometimes I wish it had a bit more grunt behind it.

While I'm happy to get my hands dirty, and have done minor things like water pump replacement, shocks etc I'm a complete novice when it comes to forced induction. However, I love tinkering and learning new stuff so....