Custom top mount intercooler for twin turbo

General Chat And Help Regarding Turbocharging and Supercharging.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

stirlsilver

Custom top mount intercooler for twin turbo

Post by stirlsilver »

Hi all, I just wanted to share some progress of some work I had been doing for the last 6 years. I'm on the fun part at the moment which is the engine (I cut down a land rover discovery into a Ute, you can read more on the AULRO forum if interested).

4.0L four bolt block
T hat liners
4HP22 with 4HP24 internals
2 x Subaru TD04L turbos
And... my custom intercooler plenum

The engine shown in the photos is just a trial engine (which is why its filthy!). I'll be fitting the final engine (with the T hat liners) early in 2016 after I finish tuning the ECU.

Thanks,
Stirling

Stirling

SuperV8
Guru
Guru

Post by SuperV8 »

Interesting project,
One question, have you thought about how you'll get good cold air flow through the intercoolers? I hope they don't act as an air heater sat on top of the engine?

Tom.
Dax Rush 4.6 supercharged V8 MSII

stevieturbo
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by stevieturbo »

Was going to say if you havent done it...dont.

It's definitely the worst possible location for an intercooler even if you are blowing air down through them.

But neatly executed

I'd also make sure you mount those with something taking the weight off the ends yet also allowing for expansion/contraction of the parts. That's a lot of weight to be bolted solid to a centre section.

2 throttles and ISCV's are also a lot of air for a 4.0 engine in boosted configuration.

Just cant help thinking a single large IC, better placed and single throttle would make life a lot easier with no downsides.
9.85 @ 144.75mph
202mph standing mile
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgWRCDtiTQ0

stirlsilver

Post by stirlsilver »