Rover 3.5 v8 running fault!!

General Chat About Electrics, And Ignition Systems.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

Cliov8

Rover 3.5 v8 running fault!!

Post by Cliov8 »

Good morning guys and girls, I am new to the site so please bear with me! I have been building a project car for the last two years and now can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel! However I have been stumped with a running fault for the last week and can't seem to get over it.....

I am a confident mechanic but this ones really getting under my skin (I'm used to modern ecus etc and this is all back to basics however I'm probably not thinking straight so I'm calling on you guys to see if anyone recognises the symptoms I'm having....)

Engine originally on carbs ran fine.....now (rightly or wrongly) I fitted the 3.9 efi injection system.....since then I cannot get her to run nicely.

Symptoms are.......will not idle at all
Runs very erratically farts and backfires through induction
Exhaust getting very hot
Gasses coming from exhaust smell so rich your eyes burn
Will not rev more than 4k and gutless....

Originally I thought timing problems......engine condition is good mechanically and cam timing is fine. I have fitted new dizzy cap leads and rotor (all lucas) for serviceable purposes. Replaced the ignition amp as it failed on me and fitted a new vacuum advance as the diaphragm was split. Used a DTC to find tdc on cyl 1 marked the crank pulley and have set timing to 6*btdc and I'm happy that IGN timing is correct.

Still the same however, I then proceeded to set up my air flow meter and throttle pot.... Firstly I found the airflow meter to be faulty so I replaced that.....Set the Co value to 1.0v (tried 1.5v but no different) and the throttle pot to 0.33v at throttle closed (0%)