SD1 Clutch Slave Cylinder Query

General Chat About Drivetrain & Transmission.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

Post Reply
jimthesail
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:50 am
Location: Essex

SD1 Clutch Slave Cylinder Query

Post by jimthesail »

Ahoy ! Silly question. I am fitting the clutch slave cylinder to an SD1 engine/gearbox in a 'basket case' kit car.
Have done lots different clutches before but a time ago. The piston (concave domed) is at outer end of bore and when fitting to bell housing appears to be 10mm out. When I attempt to bolt up it is prematurely preloading the clutch actuating rod. Is something wrong ?


JimtheSail

Coops
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6292
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:43 pm
Location: Newbury, Berks
Contact:

Re: SD1 Clutch Slave Cylinder Query

Post by Coops »

if the piston in the slave is near the end it will push in as you bolt it up,
Thats normal :)
Regards Tony C (COOPS)
Image
MS2 V3.57 Ecu mapable efi and wasted spark ignition.
Procharger D1SC supercharger and Cossie RS500 Intercooler @ 14psi of Boost. 416 RWHP, (boost leak)
Forged 4.8 V8 kitted out with the dogs Cajones of parts. :D
Sponsored by: www.v8performanceparts.co.uk, www.interpart.biz, www.caprisport.com & www.baileyperformance.co.uk

jimthesail
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:50 am
Location: Essex

Re: SD1 Clutch Slave Cylinder Query

Post by jimthesail »

Ah Ha ! That's what I thought would happen but it would have overpowered the clutch arm.
However all is now clear. Although a new cylinder it has been left in the damp for some time and
has seized at the end of it's travel. Cleaned up and should be OK now.
Thanks for advice !
JimtheSail

Post Reply

Return to “Drivetrain & Transmission Area”