V8 onto ford type 9 gearbox and into a kit car

Post any info regarding parts for conversion and swaps.
and any posts regarding swaps help.

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

richardm6994

V8 onto ford type 9 gearbox and into a kit car

Post by richardm6994 »

Hi everyone.

I'm just getting into the world of V8's and have started with a 3.9 rover.

To save me retyping my build diary onto this forum, please click the link....

http://www.rhocar.org/index.php?showtopic=35307&hl=

I would love to know your thoughts / ideas / forseeable problems as this is the place to go for V8 knowledge!!

kindest regards

richard

kiwicar
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by kiwicar »

Hi
as a general rule I would not put a type 9 behing a rover, although the rover produces not a lot of power even the 3.5 in P6 tune produces a goodly chunk of torque. . . a 3.9 in the spec you have given should be producing about 205 BHP and a proportionally large chunk of torque and to be honnest the Type 9 was designed with the kent engine in mind, and that was never a torque monster!
Having said all that you have done it, and by the looks of things you have done a very done a very neat job of it too so how to move forward.