Welder suitable for beginner & bodywork?

General Chat About Body & Strengthening

Moderator: phpBB2 - Administrators

chodjinn
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Welder suitable for beginner & bodywork?

Post by chodjinn »

Hi, I'm looking into buying a welder. I'm a complete amateur having onl done arc welding before. It's going to be used for bodywork - fitting wings and patching up bits etc.

I'll be buying second hand, can anyone give me any tips on what I should be looking for? TIG or MIG?!? I don't have a fortune to spend either!

I already have an arc welder, but I figured I should purchase a better welder for doing body panels and such?

Cheers as always,

Olly

RIP MGB V8 .... served me well as a learning curve.

R32 Skyline V8 .... this one is gonna be a monster!

Darkspeed
Guru
Guru

Post by Darkspeed »

Get a quality brand S/H MIG and only use an Argon Mix gas and 0.6 wire

I started with a SIP Migmate 130 - and still keep hold of it just in case my old Clarke 185 goes pop.

I paid £50 for the Clarke 185 S/H and its a huge old beast - Euro torch takes 25kg reels etc. but it welds superbly. get someone who can set a welder and weld to run you through the machine as it will save loads of tears.

Andrew
4.5L V8 Ginetta G27

chodjinn
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by chodjinn »

Hi Andrew, thanks again for useful advice mate! I figured a MIG would be better but wasn't sure.

What sort of price range should I be looking at, I've seen the gasless ones are a bit cheaper?

DaveEFI
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by DaveEFI »

Don't think gasless falls into 'pro' ?

If I were you I'd try and make sure you actually can achieve the skills needed to weld thin stuff, before spending money. Despite quite a bit of practice, they allude me.

And I'm very good at soldering. :D
Dave
London SW
Rover SD1 VDP EFI
MegaSquirt2 V3
EDIS8
Tech Edge 2Y

Alley Kat
Forum Contributor
Forum Contributor

Post by Alley Kat »